Huckabee on Global Warming

From sierraclub a transcript of CBS Evening News, on the question “Is The Global Warming Threat Overblown?”:

I don’t know. I mean, the honest answer for me, scientifically, is I don’t know. But here’s one thing I do know, that we ought to not let this become this big political football and point of argument. We all ought to agree that we live on this planet as guests. I think Republicans have made a big mistake by not being more on the forefront of conservationism.

I consider myself a conservationist. I think we ought to have some cap and trade. It worked with acid rain. I think it could work with Co2 emissions. I think we ought to be out there talking about ways to reduce energy consumption and waste. And we ought to declare that we will be free of energy consumption in this country within a decade, bold as that is.

Frankly, it’s a matter of national security to get to the point where we’re not dependent upon oil coming from countries who, frankly, aren’t very friendly to us.

So he does not know. The problem is that this would have been an answer more than 10 years ago when the science wasn’t as clear yet as it is now. If he still does not know, when will he? On the other hand, he does support cap and trade, something, as far as I know, among the Republican candidates only McCain supports. Unclear to me is the point of it, if he does not know the science. His favorite quote seems to be

You leave the campsite in better shape than you found it.

(from here).

He seems to be more concerned about energy independence than global warming. This of course means using coal and exploiting the ANWR. From grist again:

Our goal is to be non-dependent upon fossil fuels, but there will be an interim period in which we’ll need to utilize all the domestic oil that we can generate by ourselves, whether it’s from ANWR or the continental shelf.

So, his message on global warming is mixed.

He does not believe in evolution, so if he does not accept scientific evidence, what can you expect?

 

 

Comments Off on Huckabee on Global Warming

Filed under global warming, huckabee

Comments are closed.